Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

Well, it is an overcast day here in Bay Roberts but the spirit of the day is with most here at the office. We have some with big bow ties, green shirts and funny looking sunglasses.  Even Paula our accounts receivable’s daughters Danielle and Desiree made green chocolate chip cookies for all of us!

 

Cable Building with Irish Flag for St. Patrick's Day
Cable Building with Irish Flag for St. Patrick's Day

At home, we finished most of our preparations last night. Lisa did a wonderful job decoration the house, I just have a few more flags to hang and finish off the menu for tomorrow even’s party.  I know… I know… I usually have the celebration on the day of, but this year everyone’s schedule was packed with other appointments. So we will carry the celebrations into the weekend, which is fine by me, I get to keep the house decorated a few days longer!  Our children await this day with just as much anticipation and excitement as some of our other holidays. They enjoy the sights and sounds and especially the games for young and old like.

Music and Erin’s Call

St. Patrick’s Day is not about religion for me and my family. It is about our heritage and having the opportunity to relax and have some fun with friends and family. My love of all things Ireland  have been with me for a long time.  It started with the love of the music; my grandfather was a fine accordion and harmonica player and along with my father helped me develop a love for music, especially traditional Celtic music. I have been collecting Irish music for over 25 years and in 1997 I started a Celtic group with my brother Barry.  All my brothers are passionate over the music but none more so than Barry. I can remember being at a local bar when he got so excited about the song the boys were playing he kicked the table and the bottles went flying!

Erin's Call
Erin's Call

The pinnacle for me was having the opportunity to travel to Ireland with the Avalon North Wolverines Search and Rescue, it was a life altering trip filled with exploration, leaning opportunities and fellowship with the Irish Coast Guard. I look forward to the opportunity to going back some day , next time with my family. I got the flag of Ireland flown from our town council offices today in honour of St. Patrick’s Day and the Irish Coast Guard.

Avalon North Wolverines Search and Rescue
Avalon North Wolverines Search and Rescue

St. Bridget, the other Patron Saint of Ireland

St. Bridget or St. Brigid
St. Bridget or St. Brigid

As part of my celebrations of St. Patrick’s Day I thought it would be a nice idea to introduce the female patron Saint of Ireland.

St. Bridget (or St. Brigid) was born around 451-458 ad. in the village of Faughart, County Louth, Ireland. There is much written about her and a great deal of it conflicting. It seems in Christian views she was a woman of high respect and influence with the church. She founded  monasteries and a learning institution during her life.   It has even been written that her mother was baptized by St. Patrick. To learn more about St. Bridget follow these links :

St. Bridget the Song

My brother Barry wrote a wonderful song called St. Bridget which is on our CD Erin’s Call.

It is about a man who has spent much of his life away from his family fishing off the coast of Greenland.  He longs to be with his family when on the sea and prays to St. Bridget to take him home. Eventually his prayers were answered and he assures his family “He now can be a father like others in the lane”. I had the honour of singing this song and I hope you enjoy this YouTube video composed by Margaret Ayad.  The pictures are of the Beautiful Shoreline Heritage Walk in Bay Roberts.

I hope you enjoy today and the weekend and if you choose to celebrate our connection to an amazing land and people do so like it is your last day to live!!! ( not that it is , God forbid, but you know what I mean *s*)

4 thoughts on “Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!”

    1. Thank you for your compliments. My brother wrote it a few years ago , a interesting song indeed. Especially for those who discovered the female patron Saint of Ireland.

      I too enjoyed your blog site, it is ironic that my father went to Holy Cross.

Leave a comment