Tibb’s Eve and other Ramblings – 2009

Tibb’s Eve

Well here we are, most of you I am sure have all your Christmas preparations taken care of. I am almost there but with the hectic season,  I am trying to play catch up. The wind and wet weather is playing havoc with my outside decorating so it looks as if it will be Tibb’s Eve before I can complete my Christmas tasks. There is so much that I can write about as I have also been behind in my Christmas blogs, but I will centre in on the 23rd, Tibb’s Eve, which I celebrate with family and friends.

Tibb’s Eve is a old observance of preparedness for the Christmas season.  It is a time of sampling and ensuring all is ready for this most holy of seasons as well as for the preservation of Newfoundland traditions, the fruit cakes, purity syrup, and… for some the making and tasting of home brew.

There is a explanation of Tibb’s Eve in the Newfoundland Dictionary seen here: http://www.heritage.nf.ca/dictionary/azindex/pages/5010.html

Over the past few years, I have posted comments about this day on this blog and it has remained the most visited page as many like to read and know about it. I hold it dear to my heart as it reminds me of the past , especially my Grandfather who introduced Tibb’s Eve to me , my brothers and sister.

New Grange

I know I am missing the Winter Solstice by a few days, but I have to comment 0n it as it has major historical significance to the people who observed the 21st of December.  New Grange was constructed by a farming community over 5000 years ago making it older than Stonehenge and the Great Pyramids.

NewGrange

New Grange - Aerial View

An ancient temple, it was a place of astrological, spiritual, religious and ceremonial importance, much as present day cathedrals are places of prestige and worship where dignitaries may be laid to rest.  The most interesting piece to this is that it was only illuminated around the Winter Solstice.  During December 19th – 23rd the sun was positioned to allow the sun’s rays into its narrow chamber.  This year almost 39,000 persons registered for a lottery selection process that would allow the winners entry into the chamber.  During May of this year I had the opportunity to crawl through the narrow passage way and stand where this took place.  It was amazing to be there, I will never forget it.  

 

OK…now for Christmas

 

I always love Christmas music especially from our local musicians, this year I did find a treat from one of my favorite singer and musicians, John Curran . He has taken many Christmas standards and given then a celtic twist, if you get to a music store over the next few days; pick up a copy of “May Your Days be Merry and Bright”

curran_christmas cover

John Curran - Christmas

Stay tuned over the next few days for some pictures and thoughts of this Christmas season.

In the mean time, if you are in the Bay Roberts area, please visit our Christmas park and Visitors Pavilion, especially if you are looking for a place to find Christmas.  It is all around us, we just need to look for it!!!

Look at the Town of Bay Roberts Website for all events in the town.  It includes the schedule of events, photos, YouTubes, stories, and recipes.

www.bayrobertschristmas.com

One thought on “Tibb’s Eve and other Ramblings – 2009

  1. Hey Uncle Ron, Hope your Christmas is going well so far. We really wish we could be home to celebrate with everyone.
    Fortunately, I was able to get a copy of the John Curran Christmas album. As soon as I found out about it I got mom to express me a copy. I have always loved his voice, as having “Nancy Spain” or “Long Long before Your Time” on repeat is not an uncommon thing here.
    I must highlight and comment on the job John Curran’s Daughter Alicia does on “O Come All Ye Faithful”. Talent definitely runs in the family, what a voice! My favourite song John sings on this one is “The Little drummer boy”. I have never herd it sung that way before. Great rendition, great job! If anything can bring us a little bit closer to home its this CD. Listening to those Christmas classics, with a Celtic Newfoundland twist, really gives us the feeling of being back on the Rock for Christmas. So pardon the pun but we really wish your days are merry and bright this holiday season.
    As this is Christmas Eve, our second with Grady, tonight we’ll hang stockings, put him to bed, do our Santa thing, I’ll have a cold Guinness, Laurie-Ann a Malibu, and then hit the hay…All with thoughts of our families and friends close at heart. Sounds good to me! Have a Great Christmas, take er easy, and we’ll be talking to ya.

    Love Grady, Robert and Laurie-Ann

Leave a Reply

